Leadership & Board

Dedicated to our cause, committed to our mission.

The Council on Recovery is Houston’s oldest and largest non-profit organization providing support, information, and outpatient treatment to all who are adversely affected by alcohol, drugs, and addiction-related issues. Founded in 1946, The Council on Recovery is the leading provider of prevention, education, treatment, and recovery services in the Greater Houston area.

We have gathered a dedicated team of experts in the field of recovery. At the helm of the organization is our administrative team, led by Mary H. Beck, LMSW, CAI, President & CEO. All of our operations are run under the watchful eye of three boards - the Board of Trustees, the Foundation Board, and the Advisory Board. This structure ensures unwavering focus on our mission and total commitment to improving the health and well-being of our community.

Administrative Leadership

Mary H. Beck, LMSW, CAI

President & Chief Executive Officer


Monica Brown-Broussard, MBA

Executive Vice President


William M. (Mel) Taylor, MSW

President Emeritus

Kamari Brewer, LCSW

Chief Program Officer


Judy M. Johnson, MBA

Chief Development & Communications Officer

Lori Fiester, LCSW-S, ADS, CIP, CDWF

Clinical Director


Board Leadership (2021/2022)

Board of Trustees

Joseph A. Matula - Board Chair
Angela Pisecco - Vice Chair
Lance Baird - Treasurer
Anne Singley - Secretary

Devon Anderson
Lauren Anderson
Oliver Banks
J.C. Clemens
Jack Daniel
Mark Deaton
Chris Flood
Matthew Goldsby
Richard Hellmann

Maria Hendershott
Trent Hrncir
Patrick Keegan
Marvin Lummis
Richard Lynch
Joanie McLeod
Jerri Duddlesten Moore
Jim Nastoff
Gary Petersen
Amanda Polich
Rick Renaudin
Dana Smith
Craig Taylor
Manoel Urquidi

Foundation Board

Jim Braniff, IV - Chair
Dean Quinn - Vice Chair

Diane St. Yves Brewer

Bob Candito
Jeffrey Miller
Ellen Rutherford
Carol Warley

Advisory Board

Huston Able
Shannan Adler
Lawrence Bellatti
Kim Boone
Cindi Boudreaux
Kim Burnett
Meredith Cullen
Mike Dokupil
Diane Erbstoesser
Carol Farnsworth
Craig Fecel, II
Dr. Aaron Fink

Sarah Foshee
Susanne W. Galtney
Pat Grimes
Cathy Hale
Dr. Zach Hodges
Kathy Hood
Julie Jenkins
Tracey Kearny
Judge Steven Kirkland
Jes Kramar
Laura Ladd

Jack Mauel
Chris McLaren
Marc Melcher
Harlan Murphy
Carol Nunn
Paula Padgett
Neeraj Parasher
Walt Parmer
Jane Pendergraft
Lad Rack

Jennifer Reichek
Donna Reid
Brad Sears
Jay Sitta
Bradley Smith
Carol Trahan
Tony Valadez
Margaret Vinson
Nancy Wakefield
Rachel Tova Winer
Natallie Woods

Honorary Lifetime Board

Greg Armstrong

Rob Arnold

Kirby Attwell ‡

Hamilton Beazley

Dan Cartwright

Jerry England ‡

Julie Goudie

L.A. Greene

Sara Haynes


John Hopper

Rick Laminack

Harry Lucas, Jr.

Candace McMurrey

Dan Neale

Whipple Newell ‡

Austin O'Toole

George Pletcher

Anne McCullough Shallenberger

Sandy Sutherland

Gregg Thompson

June Waggoner

Robert (Bob) Wagner

Marthann Masterson Weaber

Mary Worscheh ‡

Nancy Younger