Leadership & Board

The Council on Recovery is Houston’s oldest and largest non-profit organization providing support, information, and outpatient treatment to all who are adversely affected by alcohol, drugs, and addiction-related issues. Founded in 1946, The Council on Recovery is the leading provider of prevention, education, treatment, and recovery services in Houston.

We've gathered a dedicated team of experts in the field of recovery. At the helm of the organization is our administrative team, led by William M. “Mel” Taylor, MSW, President & CEO. All of our operations are run under the watchful eye of three boards - the Board of Trustees, the Foundation Board, and the Advisory Board. This structure is there to ensure that our community receives the best care possible.

Administrative Leadership

William M. “Mel” Taylor, MSW

President & Chief Executive Officer

Monica Brown-Broussard, MBA

Chief Advancement & Administrative Officer

Mary Beck, LMSW, CAI

Chief Strategy Officer

Sarah F. Searle, MSW, CPA

Chief Accounting Officer

Howard A. J. Lester

Chief Marketing & Communications Officer

Board Leadership (2016/2017)

Board of Trustees

David Taylor – Chairman of the Board

Cathy Herrington Hale – Vice Chairman

Jerry England – Treasurer

Angela Pisecco – Secretary


Lauren Anderson

Bob Candito

Mark Gorman

Andy Johnston

Brad Lindig

Clark S. Lord

Phil Lukefahr

Marvin Lummis

Jeffrey Miller

Joe Matula

Harlan Murphy

Bob Newhouse

Gary Petersen

Lad Rack

Brad Sears

Diane St. Yves

Erika Tolar

Craig Taylor

Carol Trahan

Tony Valadez

Carol Warley

Rodney Wilson

Dimitri Zgourides

Foundation Board

Jack Daniel – Chairman of the Board

Dean Quinn – Vice Chairman


Greg Armstrong

Rob Arnold

Jim Braniff, IV

Carol Farnsworth

Julie Goudie

Maria Hendershott

Marc Melcher

Miriam McHenry

Jerri Duddlesten Moore

Ellen Rutherford

Advisory Board

Lance Baird

Bryan Beene

Ileana Blanco

Morgan Bomar

Johnny Braniff

James (Brook) Brookshire

Kim Burnett

Fairalee (Lee) Carrier

Michael Cregan

Meredith Cullen

Merry Davis

Rev. Betty Divine

Michael Dokupil

John (Ike) Epley

Blaise Fallon

Craig Fecel, II

Sarah Foshee

Susanne Galtney

Marcia Gatlin

Maggie Giles

Kari Hartmann

Zach Hodges

Kathy Hood

Trenton Hrncir

Marjorie Hutcheson

Judge Steven Kirkland

Will Kopp

Diane Larrivee

Kathy Lee

Chris Light

Maud Lypscomb

Jay Magness

Lisa Mayes

Kelly Miller

Alan Morlan

Charles Musslewhite

Sonia Ortiz

Chevo Pastrano

Jane Pendergraft

Helen Perry

Vanetta Peterson

Meribeth Privett Rack

Christopher Rives

Dennis Robinson

Leila Sarmecanic

Anne Singley

Jay Sitta

Dana Smith

Andrew Steptowe

Johnny Stevens

Philip Sudan

George Troxell, IV

Chris Ward